As it seems every thread in this forum manages to degenerate into a Panther debate, I'll ask the Panther loyalists a future-oriented question. In July, Alan Mullally approved a plan to redesign the upcoming Orion Ford Falcon platform from Australia into a flexible global RWD platform, to build everything from a $19,000 Mustang to a $55,000 Town Car. Each vehicle family will have its own unique parts and structure for its own purpose. For example, the 2012 Crown Victoria will probably have a much stronger structure to withstand police and taxi work.

Replacements for the Town Car, Grand Marquis, and Crown Victoria were also approved. I have a sneaking suspicion they will resemble this guy here:

interceptor_concept2.jpg

3.5 standard, 5.0 Boss or 3.5 Twin Force optional. I expect it to be priced alongside the 300 and G8, since it will closely resemble those two, if not a foot or so longer.

As someone who's ready to spring for a G8 as a daily driver, I would certainly buy an Interceptor as an alternative. So I pose the same question to the Panther loyalists. Would you buy this car, built on unibody Huntsman, with a 5.0 Boss V8 or Duratec V6, for $26,000-$40,000 retail?

• Replies 246
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The Interceptor looks more attractive every time I see it, that greenhouse is beautiful. A Town Car built from that--that's the halo car Lincoln needs. If you can't compete with Cadillac in its desire to be as sporty as the Germans, combine top-of-the-line luxury with a big V8 and see what happens.

Edited by danup

The Interceptor looks more attractive every time I see it, that greenhouse is beautiful. A Town Car built from that--that's the halo car Lincoln needs. If you can't compete with Cadillac in its desire to be as sporty as the Germans, combine top-of-the-line luxury with a big V8 and see what happens.