Stronger Encryption

succeed23

As a cyber engineer, I'm wired to look at the security settings for all the features/apps I use. I noticed the truck's wifi only has WPA encryption. I'm alarmed that Ford is using this level of encryption as it is easy to break, so I'm hoping an over-the-air update can address this change. Android Auto and likely Apple Car Play connect to the truck's wifi as well as the Bluetooth connection. I'll likely have to connect to Android auto via USB and disable the truck's wifi rather than use the wireless connection to reduce any potential risks. I'll update this if I'm mistaken, and can change the encryption level.

Edited by succeed23
  • Like 1

To clairfy, I'm not referring to the Hotspot. I'm referring to the wifi used during wireless app projection. Secondly, after some discussion regarding this matter on another forum, it may not be a concern if Ford is using 802.1x authentication with TKIP. If I'm bored enough, I'll see if I can find out if Ford is using 802.1 or PSK. Assuming the average Joe doesn't garner the attention of a cyber attacker with focused interest on their truck, the aforementioned should be sufficient. 

51 minutes ago, akirby said:

You think people will follow you around in traffic just to hack your Wi-Fi?