Catastrophic Rear Axle Failure on Highway - Help Needed

Yossarian_123

Apologies for the title and the overall tone of this post but my wife and I are petrified after an incident this weekend.  Fortunately everyone walked away, but we’re hoping for some guidance.  Excuse any technical errors as I’m no automotive expert, and please redirect this post if this is not the right place for it.

Background:  we purchased a new 2023 Transit AWD Ecoboost 148 High Roof in September 2023 after having it upfitted by a camper-van conversion company.  The upfit is fairly basic – roofing, flooring, a counter and fridge, portable battery pack, etc, so not crazy heavy – and included a lift kit and larger wheels & tires.  As far as we know, no drivetrain modifications were done.  Since purchase we’ve put ~4k miles total on the van including a 1k drive this past Friday to visit my parents.  No issues to note through this point.

Incident:  On our return trip to Sunday, we were about 10 miles into the drive doing about 55mph due to intense winds, when our rear end started bucking violently.  It started loud, then got VERY loud, lasting five seconds or a little more - felt like rolling over a deep rumble strip but only from the back end.  As soon as it stopped, we started fishtailing.  We ultimately spun 180* drifting across the left lanes and ended up in the plowed snowbank along the median, facing the wrong way.  Miraculously, no body damage due to the soft landing in the snow, but a burning smell was intense and the vehicle was immobilized – engine running but transmission in neutral.  State trooper showed up within a few minutes and called us a tow.  Wife and I sat in disbelief waiting for the tow to arrive.