Cost to charge up Energi?

GadgetGirl

Disclaimer - I am not an engineer nor did I ever have college-level physics.

My normal daily driving pattern will allow me to run exclusively in EV (I think that is the term) mode. If the C-Max has a 7.5 kWh battery and the current rate for electricity in my area is 15 cents per kilowatt-hour,
does that mean a full charge costs $1.13?

If this is the case, it will certainly be less expensive than what I am paying for gas ~$3.35 a gallon. I figure I use about 1/2 to 2/3 gallons per day in my 2002 Buick. ~15 miles per day.

If I calculated something wrong, please let me know!

Thank you!

@akirby - thanks! All good points that you make. Gasoline will most certainly go up in May - we are in an area that has to use a more expensive mix (and less fuel efficient) in the summer. The technical term escapes me. We always make sure to fill up in Wisconsin when we travel up there!

• 4 weeks later...

From what I have read, the C-Max Energi battery is 7.5 KWH capacity, but the system does not allow you to use all that. I think it will use about 6 to 6.5 KWH maximum, leaving a reserve below and above that to maintain battery health.

• 4 weeks later...

GG - I did a similar calculation as you did to get an estimate. But then I realized that our utillity provider has different rates for different levels of electricity use.

So, if the Energi charging bumps us into another category, the rate per kwh will shift - not sure if that applies to you or not. For us the change is a few cents I think - hard to tell because the darn billing info is so cryptic.

I think the best way for us to know is just looking at the change in the monthly charge overall. Our electric bill is always $47 or $48 every month, with virtually no change in kwh useage, so it will be easy for us to see a change and know it was the car that did it.