The Ford Panther Deserves A Worthy Successor And The D3 Isn't It

I hear where you are coming from with your loyalty to to the Panther and concern about it's demise. I am a veteran of One Country Squire and two Colony Parks and I am only 37. Give the Five Hundred the power and the cosmetic tweaks and I am sure it can succeed. The Chrysler products are a success for these two reasons, style and power. Everything else is a means to the end. Failing to push the limits of technology will only leave the asians to clean our clocks again. As much as nostalgia can be a double edge sword for styling, it is a death sentence when applied to technology. Sure it has a place in a luxury vehicle like Lincoln or Jaguar, but if we want to see a volume large car with a Blue Oval on it, it has to keep up with the times. Tha said, I hope they find it in the product mix to do a RWD large performance sedan. Perhaps with the SVT badge and in limited numbers so the company can make a profit and the car will retain value.

Ford Motor Company has produced rear wheel drive cars throughout it's entire history. They have done a good job as evidenced by the millions manufactured. The Panther platform has been and is a money maker. Ford needs to continue in this segment and that means having a competitive rear wheel drive platform for the Ford, Mercury and Lincoln brands. Removing itself from the various vehicle segments is not going to improve car sales and profits.

There were a lot of smaller detail items that I don't agree with in that article. Such as "The D3s are as safe as the Panthers are as bad"? WTF is this guy smoking? The Grand Marquis has had five start front crash test rating for over fifteen years and four star side impact without side airbags! That's better than any camry or accord period! The Whole gas tank issues is SOOO overblown!