Ford's turnaround edging ahead of GM's

NickF1011

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have been saying this since 2005 - Hate Bill Ford as much as you want, but he fixed the structure of the company to an incredible degree. There were things he simply could not grasp or finish, but he layed an incredibly solid foundation for Alan to work with.

Now when people are not so preoccupied with bashing the NA chiefs, the finally take a moment to realize this.

Besides - GM started sputtering in the last few quarters - GM was on a solid roll since 2004 or so and worked like a freaking machine improving every quarter - but now there are cracks showing - as if GM is now tired of the progress and wants to take a break from the restructuring. They CAFE whining, their backpedaling on plans, their book keeping mumbo jumbo, and some other factors - not good.

Igor

This is what people miss the most when looking at Ford's balance sheet. They get caught up in their loss - most of which was write-down. Their revenues were up $14 billion! Their actual operatin profits were $5 billion better worldwide than 2006. Their revenue in North America, despite sales in the U.S. being off 13% was UP! That means the money flowing in per car sold was up a large amount. How? Lower rental sales, better Lincoln sales, fewer fire storm rebates. Sound familiar?

Bill Ford did a great job with the quality initiatives earlier this decade and starting some of the balance sheet moves to get the company stable, and those combined with the additional focus on balance sheet by LeClair and Mulally, the org work overseen by Mulally, the marketing strength ramping up under Farley as well as the product cadence that is about to begin at Ford, things will start to look a lot different than they did just 1 year ago.