Lincoln needs a farewell address, not a new marketing plan

Enjoy this David Kiley piece.

I have been saying for about two years now that the trouble with Ford's Lincoln brand is that no one cares about it any more. Okay, Lincoln dealers and some current and ex-Ford employees, some of those in the airport livery and hearse businesses care. That's not a business model, though. Ford is going to try and force Lincoln on China, I hear. The Chinese want Lincoln? I doubt that.

Essentially he argues that Lincoln can't be salvaged because it's Lincoln and the potential is non-existent. Uhuh

Edited by BORG

David Kiley piece?

Thanks for the heads up. Especially since it seems he doesn't even have to make a *pretense* of journalistic objectivity or adherence to real world data.

I'm not going to read it.

I'm only going to note this:

MKZ: 14 days to turn, hybrid: 7 days to turn

and this:

http://www.businessweek.com/autos/autobeat/archives/2008/12/ford_fusion_smo.html

"it didn’t seem to get full credit for having the first hybrid SUV on the market because it used some of Toyota’s patented technology"

and this:

http://www.businessweek.com/stories/2008-09-03/the-65-mpg-ford-the-u-dot-s-dot-cant-have

"Despite the car's potential to transform Ford's image and help it compete with Toyota Motor and Honda Motor (HMC) in its home market, the company will sell the little fuel sipper only in Europe."

and ESPECIALLY THIS:

http://www.businessweek.com/autos/autobeat/archives/2008/10/gm_and_ford_bur.html

Kiley gets his facts wrong on a consistent basis, and his ability to gauge the future is even more suspect.

Edited by RichardJensen
  • Like 2

Oh, what the hey, let's haul out one more for old time's sake:

http://www.businessweek.com/stories/2006-07-09/trying-to-sharpen-jaguars-claws

Jag hasn't helped its image by foisting a $30,000 front-wheel-drive compact sedan, the X-Type, on the public.

and