Is Ford's 2015 Global Mustang a Risky Bet?

I have to say though...I'm all in favor of a 3200 pound Mustang even if it means tighter trunk and less rear seat room for kids only. You just can't be all things to all people with potent sport coupe. And Mustang GT is getting into price range where light weight carbon fiber and aluminum can be used more liberally.

I think the Mustang is now too expensive, but then again most vehicles are. They really need to find a way to keep that pricing between $28-$35k.

Seriously? $22K for a 305HP V6 is too much money? The GT has risen in cost, but the V6 offers just about the same performance that the 2005-2009 GT did and the current GT has 425HP which not too long ago was Super Car power ratings.

You can option out a GT for about $35K if you don't go crazy with the options.

As the article inferred, and Detroit has proven, in business if one isn't changing and evolving one is slowly dying. As an engineer I think Ford shouldn't be afraid of changing the Mustang, but relishing in the challenge. As such I'm looking forward to seeing how Ford evolves the Mustang into the future, and don't fear the idea.

Uh. Was there anything in that article?

I cringe even more at the idea of alienating both markets by creating something too big and inefficient for Europe, and too Euro-inspired for the U.S. market. Martin Smith, chief of Ford Europe design, admitted that the challenge represents a fine line to walk. "That is a really interesting challenge," Smith said at the Geneva auto show. "What will emerge from that whole process is one of the best sports cars in the world and one that is still affordable."

• Like 2

IMO, the Mustang is a global icon and does not need to be reinvented. Just IRS and decent interior materials are needed to meet the Euro customers requirements.

And by the noise on forums in Europe, Ford best offer a V8 option as well, or no sale for the die hard Mustang fans.

Edited by MKII