2017(?) Aluminum Expedition Spotted Testing

I think it looks fine as is but it could just be prudent use of existing aluminum parts. Are the doors shared as well? Hard for me to tell.

You'd think if this was the real front end it would have padding all over it. Or maybe they want folks to know the new Expy will be loominum.

• Like 2

Looks like rear diff will still be independent.....also, notice the rear wheel well lip is significantly different than that on the front clip...guessing that the front clip that is on the mule is not going to be the same....ditto for the doors....do not match up with rear quarter window lower sight lines....

2018-expedition-014-1.jpg

Edited by twintornados

Glad to see the IRS stays.

I'm pretty excited about this. Ford has a great opportunity here. I've been driving a 2005 Yukon XL for almost two years. I have to say I love it. GM fans say it is the best model year series of the Sub/Yukon. But as a Ford fan I wish Ford would consider some of the Suburban's/Yukon's best attributes:

Completely flat load floor (yes, you have to take out the 3rd row). The load floor is not all jacked up with fake and useless panel and compartments like the new GMs. Ford is close here even with the 3rd row thanks to the IRS.

Low beltline and hood line. This vehicle drives much smaller than it looks.

Drive quality. It truly is the Texas Cadillac.

Styling. It's not butch looking and women are more inclined to purchase (key buyers)

This is definitely a mule, it reminds me of the Explorer mule that used a Flex front clip and widened Freestyle body. This confirms a couple of things. First, there will be a next gen Expedition and second , it will have IRS. Other than that, it's hard to tell anything else. What I really want to see now is an Expedition EL mule.

Looks like they grafted a 2015 rear onto a 2015 F150 supercrew front. Definitely a mule. My guess is none of the sheetmetal is production otherwise it would have cladding.